Skip to content

Mobility Data Interoperability Principles

Watch the Public Town Hall

Interested in learning more about the Principles and discussing their implementation with the community? The co-author coalition held a Town Hall meeting on December 9th, 2021.

Watch the full meeting here.

Co-signer form can be submitted on an ongoing basis.

Public Transit, and the mobility services which support it, is a critical backbone to our environmental, economic, and societal well-being. Modern, easily-accessible and well-operated public transit depends on a complex system of operations and customer-oriented technology components which work together.

Interoperable transit technology systems enable transit providers to plan service which is responsive to rider needs, improve service quality and efficiency, and adapt to continuing changes. Interoperability also encourages innovation among transportation technology companies while helping them to contain costs.

Released in October 2021 after a collaborative public process, Mobility Data Interoperability Principles create an industry-agreed upon vision, definition and direction for achieving interoperability with clear roles and responsibilities. The Principles were collaboratively developed by dozens of public and private organizations and researchers through a public review process.

Over 60 public and private signatories have committed to implementing the Principles. Organizations who are interested in publicly committing to the Principles and their faithful implementation can submit the form.

The Principles are co-authored by (in alphabetical order) the California Association of Coordinated Transportation, California Integrated Travel Project, Denver Regional Transportation District, ENTUR, the Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority, Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority, Metro Transit (MN), the Metropolitan Transportation Commission, Minnesota Department of Transportation, MobilityData, North Carolina Department of Transportation, the Shared Use Mobility Center, the Taskar Center for Accessible Technology, Tri-Met, Vermont Agency of Transportation, VIA Metropolitan Transit San Antonio, and Washington State Department of Transportation Public Transportation Division.


The purpose of the Mobility Data Interoperability Principles is to foster a transit industry where mobility data flows freely and securely between systems, between operators, and between providers and the riding public, empowering transit agencies and other mobility service providers and transportation system managers to provide better service, improve the customer experience, and build systems that are equitable and sustainable.



The undersigned organizations and individuals support the following Mobility Data Interoperability Principles:

  1. All systems creating, modifying, or consuming mobility data should be interoperable.
  2. Interoperability should be achieved through the development, adoption, and widespread implementation of open standards that support the efficient exchange and portability of mobility data.
  3. Transit agencies and other mobility service providers should have access to tools that present high-quality mobility data accessibly, equitably, and in real time to assist travelers in meeting their mobility needs.
  4. Transit agencies, other mobility service providers, and travellers should be able to select the transportation technology components that best meet their needs.
  5. All individuals and the public should be empowered through high-quality, well-distributed mobility data to find, access, and utilize high-quality mobility options that meet their needs as they see fit, while maintaining their privacy.


In alphabetical order.

*Affiliation for identification purposes only

Join us!

You can find out more information about becoming a co-signer or supporting the Principles by reviewing the support section.

Signatories will be asked to formally indicate support following v1.0 being frozen.


California Association of Coordinated Transportation  (CALACT)
California Integrated Travel Project (Cal-ITP)
Denver Regional Transportation District (RTD)
Massachusetts Bay Transportation Authority (MBTA)
Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority
Metropolitan Transportation Commission (MTC)
Minnesota Department of Transportation
North Carolina Department of Transportation
Shared Use Mobility Center (SUMC)
Taskar Center for Accessible Technology
Taskar Center for Accessible Technology
Vermont Agency of Transportation
VIA Metropolitan Transit San Antonio
Washington State Department of Transportation (WSDOT) Public Transportation Division

You can find out more information about becoming a co-signer or supporting the Principles by reviewing the support section.